Then Silence
By Ibsen Award Winner Arne Lygre

‘It’s a game. A serious game, but a game nevertheless’
Somewhere, three figures try to make sense of the world.

Through loss, loneliness, playground violence, and drunken teenage awareness of mortality, a Brother, One and Another raise a mirror to the darker corners of our modern world and human condition, in an attempt to understand.

Then Silence by Ibsen award-winning playwright Arne Lygre is brought to the UK for the first time in this bold new English translation by Empty Deck.


‘like Sarah Kane’s Blasted, Then Silence… intelligently worries away at a more intangible core of aggression in the human animal’
Andrew Haydon, Postcards From The Gods

‘This haunting, muscular and multi-dimensional meditation on the human world… promises to leave the audience energised and reeling’
Norwegian Arts

‘Arne Lygre has stepped into the elite of Norwegian authors. Then Silence firmly confirms his position.’
Tom Egil Hverven, Klassekampen


Arne Lygre

Arne Lygre is a Norwegian playwright based in Oslo. He has written eight plays since his debut in 1998, which have been staged and published in many countries around the world. Man Without Purpose was directed by Claude Régy at Odeon Theatre in Paris in 2007/2008. I Disappear had its world premiere at Théatre National de la Colline in Paris in November 2011, directed by Stéphane Braunschweig and its Norwegian opening at The National Theatre in Oslo in August 2012, directed by Eirik Stubø. His latest play, Nothing of Me, had its world premiere at Stadsteatern Stockholm in April 2014, its Norwegian premiere at Det Norske Teatret in Oslo in September 2014, and its French premiere at Théatre National de la Colline in Paris in September 2014.

Arne Lygre wrote his first short stories collection, In Time, for which he got the prestigious Norwegian literary award, Brageprisen, in 2004. He has written two novels, A Last Face (2006) and My Dead Man (2006), both to citical aclaim. He was awarded the Literary Award Mad Weils Nygaards’ Legacy in 2010, and the Ibsen Award for best new play in Norway in 2012.

Then Silence at the INCOMING Festival, New Diorama, June 2015 (work-in-progress)

Cast: Peter Clements, Peter Hobday, James Marchant
Direction: Kay Michael
Design: Denisa Dumitrescu
Sound: Josh Grigg
Movement: Sara Green
Photography by Richard Davenport
Then Silence at the Platform Theatre, CSM and Tristan Bates Theatre May – June 2014

Cast: Ben Woodhall, Hugo Bolton, Elyot Burnett, Jordon Kemp
Direction: Kay Michael
Design: Denisa Dumitrescu
Lighting: Alex Hopkins
Sound: Liam Quinn
Movement: Sara Green
Assistant Director and Understudy: David Burnett
Photography by Marc Gates and Ettiene Leung